Home / Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour / Bob Johnson & Tim McColman Complete Weekend Sweep At Weedsport Sunday

Bob Johnson & Tim McColman Complete Weekend Sweep At Weedsport Sunday

WEEDSPORT, NY – Modified points leader Bob Johnson of Horseheads, NY and Kingston, Ontario’s Tim McColman swept their respective classes over the past weekend with the Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour at Land Of Legends Raceway Saturday and then again here at the Weedsport Speedway Sunday.

In the 15 lap Modified feature Johnson would assume command on the opening lap and was never headed the rest of the way cruising to his fifth feature win of the season on the Tour. Alex Morris of Niagara Falls, NY would settle into second until Jason Powers of Athens, Ont would take the spot before the half way mark. Powers would then try to reel in Johnson but could never close the gap over the remaining laps. Morris would hold on for third, John Stanley and Matt Barbour would round out the fast five.

Tim McColman would take a page out of Johnson’s book and and run an almost identical race jumping out to the lead from his pole starting position. Tim Charland of Merrickville, Ontario would give chase but like Powers in the Modified feature, he was not able to run the leader down. Craig Chisom of Penn Yann, NY would complete the podium.

Pit notes: Shane Billings making the long trip down from Carelton Place, Ont was unable to get much track time due to various mechanical issues…Charles Voit making his second appearance of the year…Sheldon Hoogwerf with his first ever DMNT showing…J Makowski making the long haul up from PA and also experienced mechanical issues…all the DMNT racers were impressed by the beautiful facility at Weedsport…Starter Jim Olin cooking up a storm for all the DMNT drivers, families and crews in the early afternoon, we would like to express our gratitude to Jim who always goes above and beyond for us…The DMNT is off this weekend to prepare for a triple header weekend co sanctioned with the Eastern Ontario Club as we tackle Mohawk International, Plattsburgh Airborne and Cornwall Motor Speedway in 2 weeks.

Modified Feature, 15 laps

1) 56 Bob Johnson 2) 53 Jason Powers 3) 09 Alex Morris 4) 2 John Stanley 5) 37 Matt Barbour 6) 27 Sheldon Hoogwerf 7) 37X Ed Lawrence 8) 42 Pat Charland 9) 40 Tim Hegarty 10) X22 Denzil Billings Jr 11) 19 Megan Ciglich

1) 20 Tim McColman 2) 12 Tim Charland 3) 111 Craig Chisom 4) 00 Darrell Wilson 5) 4 Charles Voit 6) 75 Allie Elkins 7) 88 Brad Litzenberger 8) 29 J Makowski DNS 19 Shane Billings

For more information on the DMNT: https://www.dirtmodifiednostalgiatour.com/

Check Also

Fan-Favorite Events Highlight 2020 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Tour

INDIANAPOLIS, IND – The 2020 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series schedule was released on Friday at …

%d bloggers like this: