Home / Oswego Speedway / Dave Danzer Dodges Last Ditch Effort by Otto Sitterly to Win Supermodified Twin 35

Dave Danzer Dodges Last Ditch Effort by Otto Sitterly to Win Supermodified Twin 35

OSWEGO, NY – Novelis Supermodified veteran Dave Danzer snapped a two year winless streak when he took advantage of misfortune for early leader Lou LeVea Jr. and continued on to win the second Novelis Supermodified Twin 35 presented by Burke’s Do It Best Home Centers and Bosco’s this past Saturday night.

After starting pole, Danzer lost the lead on the first lap to LeVea Jr, who drove his No. 83 around the outside of Danzer’s No. 52 in turns three and four to come off the corner and lead lap 1.

LeVea showed immediately that he had enough speed to contend for the win, as he pulled away from Danzer and third starting Aric Iosue in a hurry, with Logan Rayvals and Dan Connors Jr. in position further back in the top five.

On lap 5, the race was yellow flagged for a scary incident involving the Osetek Racing No. 95 of Dave Shullick Jr. Much of the back end of Shullick’s car was engulfed in flames, causing officials to quickly order him to stop at the inside of the race track in order for the fire to be extinguished.

With Shullick out of the car unharmed and the mess cleaned up, LeVea got on it in a hurry on the restart, once again walking away from both Danzer and also the No. 11 of Iosue.

Through ten laps, Jeff Abold and Otto Sitterly began to creep through the field, with Abold finding the top five and Sitterly working up to seventh from the eleventh starting position.

Just prior to halfway, it was still LeVea Jr. out front who appeared well on his way to the first feature win of his career, but all of that came to a heartbreaking end on lap 15 when the No. 83 overheated and was brought pitside.

With LeVea in the pits, this meant Danzer was the new leader over Iosue and Rayvals, as Sitterly and Abold continued to battle for fourth.

Soon Sitterly knew time was running out, and he rocketed past Abold on the outside before almost immediately switching lanes to go low under Rayvals. He then grabbed third with Iosue and Danzer just ahead.

On lap 20, the leaders finally caught lapped traffic and the top three of Danzer, Iosue, and Sitterly made it through without any issues, as did Abold who was able to capitalize on a missed corner by Rayvals to take fourth.

By lap 25, Sitterly had pulled in behind Iosue and began to go to work on the runner-up car with ten laps remaining. Otto tried the outside several times, but could not make the pass until lap 31 which gave him only three full laps to try and catch Danzer.

At the white flag, Sitterly was all over Danzer and made a last ditch dive down low in turn three to take the lead for about three seconds, but the No. 7 car washed way up the track, handing the lead back over to the No. 52 at the apex of the final corner.

Coming to the checkered flag, Sitterly came inches away from getting into the fence, but was able to wrestle the car off the wall and hang on for third, giving second back to Iosue and the win to Danzer.

Danzer earned the hard fought eleventh victory of his Novelis Supermodified career at Oswego ahead of Sitterly, Iosue, Abold, and Rayvals in the top five.

“That was Lou LeVea Jr’s race tonight,” Danzer said. “They did phenomenal. He sailed it on the high side the first lap and I couldn’t believe it stuck. They had a better car and walked away. I just couldn’t rotate the center. I saw Otto coming on the last lap and knew he was going to blow it in there, so I backed up my corner entry going into three to get back by and thankfully we did.”

Keith Shampine, Joe Gosek, Dave Gruel, Alison Sload, and Dan Bowes filled in the top ten for the second Twin while top fifteen finishers were Connors, Tyler Thompson, Michael Muldoon, and rookies Jack Patrick and Camden Proud.

Ben Seitz, Jerry Curran, LeVea Jr, Brandon Bellinger, and Dave Shullick Jr. all finished up their evenings pitside in that order. Michael Barnes and Hal LaTulip did not start the second 35 due to issues sustained earlier in the evening.

For his nice run in fifth, Rayvals was awarded the Lighthouse Lanes ‘Up & Comer’ while Sitterly repeated as the D&S Landscaping Hard Charger for the second event in a row.

Oswego Speedway is back in action next weekend with a ‘Road to the Championship’ event presented by A&P Auto Parts featuring full programs for the Novelis Supermodifieds, Pathfinder Bank SBS and 350 Supermodifieds plus the always popular driver autograph session.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, you can visit the track’s website online at OswegoSpeedway.com. Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. The speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at the Oswego Speedway making it the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds and 350 Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, and former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


Burke’s Do It Best Home Centers and Bosco’s Twin 35’s

Oswego Speedway

Oswego, NY

Saturday, June 8, 2019

Novelis Supermodifieds

Feature 2 (35-laps): 1. 52 DAVE DANZER, 2. 11 Aric Iosue, 3. 7 Otto Sitterly, 4. 05 Jeff Abold, 5. 94 Logan Rayvals, 6. 55 Keith Shampine, 7. 00 Joe Gosek, 8. 50 Dave Gruel, 9. 39 ® Alison Sload, 10. 25 ® Dan Bowes, 11. 01 Dan Connors Jr, 12. 98T Tyler Thompson, 13. 15 Michael Muldoon, 14. 90 ® Jack Patrick, 15. 54 ® Camden Proud, 16. 32 ® Ben Seitz, 17. 78 Jerry Curran, 18. 83 Lou LeVea Jr, 19. 02 Brandon Bellnger, 20. 95 Dave Shullick Jr, DNS – 68 Michael Barnes, 56 Hal LaTulip

Heat 1 (12-laps): 1. 68 Michael Barnes, 2. 11 Aric Iosue, 3. 05 Jeff Abold, 4. 52 Dave Danzer, 5. 00 Joe Gosek, 6. 78 Jerry Curran, 7. 25 ® Dan Bowes, DNF – 56 Hal LaTulip

Heat 2 (12-laps): 1. 7 Otto Sitterly, 2. 39 ® Alison Sload, 3. 94 Logan Rayvals, 4. 55 Keith Shampine, 5. 98T Tyler Thompson, 6. 15 Michael Muldoon, 7. 54 ® Camden Proud

Heat 3 (12-laps): 1. 01 Dan Connors Jr, 2. 50 Dave Gruel, 3. 83 Lou LeVea Jr, 4. 95 Dave Shullick Jr, 5. 02 Brandon Bellinger, 6. 90 ® Jack Patrick, 7. 32 ® Ben Seitz

Group Time Trials: 1. 00 Joe Gosek – 15.869, 2. 02 Brandon Bellinger – 16.060, 3. 98T Tyler Thompson – 16.080, 4. 05 Jeff Abold – 16.082, 5. 95 Dave Shullick Jr. – 16.150, 6. 7 Otto Sitterly – 16.195, 7. 25 ® Dan Bowes – 16.202, 8. 50 Dave Gruel – 16.214, 9. 55 Keith Shampine – 16.345, 10. 52 Dave Danzer – 16.362, 11. 32 ® Ben Seitz – 16.364, 12. 15 Michael Muldoon – 16.397, 13. 01 Dan Connors Jr. – 16.402, 14. 39 ® Alison Sload – 16.451, 15. 11 Aric Iosue – 16.487, 16. 83 Lou LeVea Jr. – 16.489, 17. 94 Logan Rayvals – 16.523, 18. 68 Michael Barnes – 16.555, 19. 78 Jerry Curran – 16.617, 20. 54 ® Camden Proud – 16.750, 21. 90 ® Jack Patrick – 16.911, 22. 56 Hal LaTulip – 17.387

D&S Landscaping Hard Charger Feature 2: #7 Otto Sitterly

Lighthouse Lanes Up and Comer Feature 2: #94 Logan Rayvals

Check Also

Legendary Joe Gosek to Take Part in His Third NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week at Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – 63 year-old racing legend Joe Gosek will once again extend his Oswego …

%d bloggers like this: