HOLLAND, NY – The Track @ Hillside presented its first Saturday program of the 2018 season under the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series banner on an overcast, warm late afternoon and evening. The Crazy 8’s division joined the show for their first appearance of 2018 at the 3/8 mile asphalt oval.

Neal Dietz Jr. outran Patrick Emerling for the lead as the green dropped on the 40-lap SST Modified feature and as the race went on, Emerling fell back as his car started getting loose. The event went non-stop with no cautions, and at the finish, Dietz had his first win of the season over Emerling, Scott Wylie, Shawn Nye, and Connor Sellars.

SST Modified heats were won by Neal Dietz Jr. and Patrick Emerling.

In the 25-lap NYPA TQ Midget feature, AJ Hessler was the early leader, but Dave Wollaber ran him down a few laps in with Kyle Hutchinson hot on their tails. Hutchinson went to the pits under yellow to check a possible leak and rejoined the field at the tail. Wollaber took over the lead on the restart as Hutchinson flew through the pack, making up positions each lap. With ten to go, Hutchinson was up to second, trying to run down but a yellow flew on lap 16, setting up a restart. Hutchinson got by Wollaber at the green to take his second win in a row over Wollaber, Erik Musto, AJ Hessler, and Vinnie Christiano Jr.

NYPA TQ Midget heats were won by Dave Wollaber and Kyle Hutchinson.

Ken Maltby and John Calhoun dueled in the first couple of laps of the 35-lap Street Stock 8 feature, with Maltby pulling away as Calhoun faded into a battle with Tim and Nik Welshans. Josh Hathaway had a fast car and came strongly through the field, eventually passing both Welshans and taking the runnerup position. In the final 15 laps, Hathaway trimmed Maltby’s lead from a half straightaway to four car lengths, but could not catch him. It was Maltby’s second win of the year, with Hathaway, Tim Welshans, Nik Welshans, and John Calhoun rounding out the top five.

Street Stock 8 heats were won by Johsn Carlson and Ken Maltby.

Bob Bogner jumped into the lead at the start of the 26-lap Street Stock 4 feature as Michelle Russo battled with Scott Pastorious for second. Jeff Szfraniec also got into the mix as Bogner built a big lead. Pastorious faded back into a battle with Bob Palmer and Josh Schosek for position as Szfraniec challenged Russo for second. The race went non-stop with no cautions, and at the checkers, Bogner had the win over Russo, Szfraniec, Palmer, and Schosek.

Street Stock 4 heats were won by Scott Pastorious and Bob Bogner.

The Crazy 8’s ran their first event of 2018, with Marty Hughes avoiding crossover traffic deftly as he took the win over Scott Pastorious the Palmers (Ryan and Robert).

The Track @ Hillside returns to action on Friday, Jun 1st with a program featuring the SST Modifieds, Street Stock 8’s,

Street Stock 4’s, and Crazy 8’s. Race time will be 7:30 p.m. For more information, check the new web site at



SST MODIFIED FEATURE-NEAL DIETZ JR, Patrick Emerling, Scott Wylie, Shawn Nye, Connor Sellars, Eddie Hawkins, Kevin Timmerman, Mike Pennell, Matt Druar, Sam Fullone.

NYPA TQ MIDGET FEATURE-KYLE HUTCHINSON, Dave Wollaber, Erik Musto, AJ Hessler, Vinnie Christiano, Tim Nies, Chad Haywood, Jim Fleischman, Kevin Wilson, Jamie Pew, Patrick Smith, Jim Musto, Jerry Toms, Cameron Ruggerio, Tony Patrea.

STREET STOCK 8 FEATURE-KEN MALTBY, Josh Hathaway, Tim Welshans, Nik Welshans, John Calhoun, Jim Loffredo, Chris Handley, Jim Mollaber.

STREET STOCK 4 FEATURE-BOB BOGNER, Michelle Russo, Jeff Szfraniec, Bob Palmer, Josh Schosek, Casey Pew, Ryan Palmer4, Grant Hill, Adam Killingbeck, Dave Pendrak, Scott Pastorious.

CRAZY 8’S FEATURE-MARTY HUGHES, Scott Pastorious, Ryan Palmer, Bob Palmer.

Check Also

Shullick Jr. Posts Top Time Following Four Straight Days of Testing at Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – During a private track rental on Monday evening, Ohioan Dave Shullick Jr. …

%d bloggers like this: