Home / Latest News / Invitational Starters Revealed for Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing ‘Supermodified Showdown’ This Sunday, April 26

Invitational Starters Revealed for Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing ‘Supermodified Showdown’ This Sunday, April 26

OSWEGO, NY – Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing has revealed the list of ‘real life’ Supermodified, Small Block Supermodified, and 350 Supermodified drivers guaranteed to start this Sunday’s 25-lap invitational as part of the first annual ‘Supermodified Showdown.’

The Supermodified Showdown will be broadcast live on AsphaltVision.TV and feature two main events; a 50-lap Oswego feature and 50-lap winged feature open to both real and sim racers, before all attention shifts to the 25-lap non-wing invitational race held for eligible drivers only.

26 drivers have signed up for the Showdown including 17 current and former Supermodified drivers at Oswego Speedway or on the ISMA and MSS circuits, plus 9 combined current and former Pathfinder Bank SBS and J&S Paving 350 Supermodified drivers.

Among the 26 racers entered are one Oswego Speedway Hall of Famer, 18 Supermod or Small Block Supermodified feature winners, and an impressive 4 former champions of the Budweiser International Classic 200.

Headlining the Supermodified roster will be the ‘Young One,’ Doug Heveron; who has not raced competitively in over ten years, but has become an avid sim racer in the past decade, and Greg Furlong, a six-time champion of the International Classic and three-time Oswego champion.

While Heveron and Furlong will come ‘out of retirement’ for the XSTSR Showdown, two active Classic winners; Dave Shullick Jr. and Tyler Thompson, will join the fray as well. Shullick is also a multi-time winner of the Hy-Miler Nationals and Star Classic, while Thompson is the youngest Supermodified feature winner of any kind.

More Supermodified winners in the field include the only female victor in division history; Alison Sload, ISMA and Oswego winner and former record holder Joey Payne, King of Wings VIII Trent Stephens, three-time Oswego winner Jeff West, 2016 Grand Prix champion Aric Iosue, and Midwest Super Series winners Talon Stephens, and brothers AJ and Jonathan Lesiecki.

Among the remaining drivers ready for action are 350 Super feature winner and ISMA part-timer Mike Netishen, former Classic ‘Rookie of the Race’ Davey Hamilton Jr, Novelis Supermodified regular Logan Rayvals, and last season’s Rookie of the Year Camden Proud.

Pathfinder Bank SBS and 350 Supermodified winners that have registered are lead by 2X track champion Anthony Losurdo, 2015 Bud Light Classic 75 champ Bryan Haynes, Mr. Pathfinder Bank SBS champions Michael Bruce and AJ Bernys, and multi-time feature winner and now Supermodified sophomore; Jack Patrick.

Small Block Supermodified young guns Joshua Sokolic and incoming rookie Griffin Miller, as well as second generation veteran Ray Sand Jr, and former Speedway racers Kyle Reuter and Addison Bowman, are all scheduled for the 25-lapper as well.

An updated schedule for the Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing Supermodified Showdown will be made available to fans this week. The AsphaltVision.TV FREE broadcast is scheduled to begin at 8:00pm.

The official Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing league site can be found at XtremeSimRacing.us, and you can also give the league a LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/XtremeSTSR.

About Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing: Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing was established in 2014 by a group of friends and sim racers. XSTSR features pavement rFactor Mods such as the newest 2020 Oswego Non-Winged Supermodifieds, 2020 Winged Supermodifieds, 2020 Sprint Cars, template Late Models, Outlaw Super Late Models, NEMA Midgets, and Tour Mods. None of this would be possible without the efforts of Shane Gott (Blackout Sim Products), who has propelled himself as one of the most detail oriented modelers in sim racing, and Perry Vance, who in short order has constructed some of the nation’s most popular short tracks for in-game use, including the famed Oswego Speedway.

XSTSR Supermodified Showdown 100 Invitational Starters:

AJ Bernys – 2012 Mr. Pathfinder Bank SBS
Michael Bruce – Multi-Time Pathfinder Bank SBS Feature Winner, Current 350 Super Driver
Addison Bowman – Raced in Pathfinder Bank SBS division in 2017
Greg Furlong – 6X International Classic Champion, Multi-Time Track Champion
Davey Hamilton Jr. – Son of Indy Car’s Davey Hamilton, Former Classic ‘Rookie of the Race’
Bryan Haynes – 2015 Bud Light Classic 75 Champion
Doug Heveron – Speedway Hall of Famer, ‘81 and ‘82 Classic and Track Champion
Aric Iosue – 2X Feature Winner, Former Novelis Supermodified ‘Grand Prix’ Champion
AJ Lesiecki – Jonathan’s brother, Midwest Supermodified Series Winner
Jonathan Leseicki – AJ’s brother, Midwest Supermodified Series Winner
Anthony Losurdo – 2X Pathfinder Bank SBS Track Champion, ‘19 350 Super Champion
Griffin Miller – Pathfinder Bank SBS Rookie, Finished Top 5 at Evans Mills Last Fall
Mike Netishen – 350 Supermodified Winner, ISMA Supermodified Part-Timer
Jack Patrick – Multi-Time Pathfinder Bank SBS winner, Novelis Supermodified Sophomore
Joey Payne – Oswego and ISMA Feature Winner, Former Track Record Holder
Camden Proud – SBS Veteran, 2019 Novelis Supermodified Rookie of the Year
Logan Rayvals – 2019 Novelis Supermodified ‘Most Improved’ Driver
Kyle Reuter – 2018 Bud Light Classic 75 ‘Rookie of the Race’
Ray Sand Jr. – Second Generation Driver, Pathfinder Bank SBS Veteran
Dave Shullick Jr. – ‘17 Track Champ, Hy-Miler, Oswego Classic, and Star Classic Champion
Alison Sload – Only Female Feature Winner in Supermodified History
Talon Stephens – Multi-Time Midwest Supermodified Series Winner
Trent Stephens – Former King of Wings, 3X Feature Winner on the ISMA Circuit
Joshua Sokolic – 2018 Pathfinder Bank SBS Rookie of the Year
Tyler Thompson – 2019 Intl’ Classic Champion, Youngest Supermodified Winner in History
Jeff West – Supermodified Driver and Car Owner, 3X Oswego Feature Winner

Check Also


DUNDEE, NY – In a totally unexpected block buster announcement, the ownership and management team …

%d bloggers like this: