Home / Albany-Saratoga Speedway / Lyle DeVore (Albany-Saratoga Speedway) Nominated For RPM Auto Racing Promoter of the Year

Lyle DeVore (Albany-Saratoga Speedway) Nominated For RPM Auto Racing Promoter of the Year

MT. CALVARY, WI – Five of six nominees for Racing Promotion Monthly’s Auto Racing Promoter of the Year are repeat nominees.

The nominees’ include four who promote dirt tracks, and two who promotes paved tracks. Two are affiliated with NASCAR, one with IMCA, one with DIRTcar, and two that operate with multiple sanctions and series.

The nominees are: Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (NY) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Bill & Mayes Massey and Doug Stevens, Senoia (GA) Raceway; Region Three, Central Region: Tom Helfrich, Tri-State (IN) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region: Toby Kruse, Marshalltown (IA) Speedway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region: Adam Nelson, Meridian (ID) Speedway.

The Masseys and Stevens are first-time nominees, Devore, McKarns, and Nelson received second nominations, and Kruse and Helfrich, their third nominations. Helfrich’s renomination comes 20 years after his last previous
nomination and Nelson’s after a nine-year hiatus.

Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway received the award last year.  Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O’Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993; Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, 2009; the Queensland family, 2010; Robert Sargent, 2011; Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, 2012; Roger Hadan, 2013, Gary & Donna Howe, 2014, Gray Garrison and the Hawkins Family, 2015, Dan Robinson, 2016.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly.Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach readers of Racing Promotion Monthly via the U.S. Postal Service. The Forty-third Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 46th Annual RPM@Daytona Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 11, 2019.

Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, and the Workshops, are produced with the year-round support of K&K Insurance Group, Inc., Hoosier Racing Tire. The RPM Promoters Workshops are produced with additional support from: INEX, Chevrolet Performance, Moffett Productions, Raceceiver, Lucas Oil, Simes Graphic Designs, Firethorn Marketing, and IMCA. The Speedweek Workshop is the 119th produced by Racing Promotion Monthly since 1974. More than 900 track operators, their employees, and industry leaders attended last year’s Workshops. More information is available from RacingPromotionMonthly.Com or by phone at 920-367-0540.

Check Also

Mike Mahaney First Time Winner at Albany-Saratoga Speedway

MALTA, NY –The new kid on the block is now a feature winner at Albany-Saratoga …

%d bloggers like this: