Deer Creek


CONCORD, NC – 32 years later, the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series are coming back to Jackson Motorplex.

After a more than three decade absence, it’s only fitting that we return in grand fashion. We’re doing just that with the Drydene Double Down Invitational.

Boosting Saturday’s purse to $20,000-to-win and $1,000-to-start, this weekend’s ‘RETURN to RACING’ has quickly become a must-watch event live on DIRTVision. No fans will be permitted due to COVID-19 regulations, but the DIRTVision FAST PASS is your all-access at-home ticket to a weekend of racing.

For drivers looking to compete this weekend at Jackson, entry is still open and you can enter HERE. There will be no at-track registration, so you must enter online ahead of the event. Additional information for drivers and teams include the Competitor NotesParticipant SnapshotFriday’s Order of Events and Saturday’s Order of Events.

Scott Bloomquist brings in previous experience at Jackson Motorplex, winning a Lucas Oil Late Model event in 2018.

While the World of Outlaws haven’t visited Jackson since 1988, the newest generation of Super Late Model superstars still have some experience at the 4/10th-mile semi-banked oval. In 2018, the Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series debuted at Jackson. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., who is currently tied for fifth in World of Outlaws Late Model points, dominated the event and led all 50 laps in his Team Zero entry. Bloomquist will be back at Jackson this Friday and Saturday along with several other Outlaws who ran that race including Brandon Sheppard (5th), Ricky Weiss (7th), Dennis Erb Jr. (12th) and Darrell Lanigan (19th).

When it comes to the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series, an inaugural season event on June 18, 1988 – won by Willy Kraft – is the only race at Jackson in the memory bank. In the modern era (since 2004), the Outlaws have made 26 previous appearances in the state of Minnesota with 17 of those at Deer Creek Speedway, four races at Ogilvie Raceway, three at Hibbing Raceway, and two at North Central Speedway.

In those 26 races since 2004, the Bluegrass Bandit has been more like the Minnesota Master. Leading the way in countless categories, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky. most notably tops the charts in victories, top five finishes, top ten finishes, and earnings, when it comes to the World of Outlaws Late Models in the North Star State.

Lanigan’s 7 wins & 16 top five finishes lead all World of Outlaws drivers in the state of Minnesota.

Lanigan’s seven career victories in Minnesota is more than double that of Chris Madden, Josh Richards and Shane Clanton, who all have three wins apiece. His 16 top five finishes leads the way over Clanton (15) and Jimmy Mars at 10, the only three drivers in the double digits. In 2009, Lanigan collected $20,700 for his “Gopher 50” title at Deer Creek, a payday he could reciprocate this weekend in the Drydene Double Down Invitational at Jackson.

In recent years, Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill. has been the most consistent force in the Land of 10,000 Lakes. Dating back to 2017, Sheppard has recorded seven-straight top five finishes, including two wins at Deer Creek and Hibbing, and amassed an average finish of 2.3 in feature action.

Sheppard, the two-time and defending World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series champion, enters this weekend’s RETURN to RACING as the current points leader as well. In nine starts this year, the Rocket1 Racing, Valvoline No. 1 has never finished outside of the top ten once with eight top fives and a victory at Volusia Speedway Park.

Since 2017, Sheppard and the Rocket1 No. 1 have an average finish of 2.3 in 7 Minnesota races.

“Smokey” Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. comes in as a three-time World of Outlaws winner in Minnesota, all three coming since 2017. A strong weekend in Jackson could propel the the Team Zero, Drydene No. 0M into the top three of the point standings.

Ricky Weiss, who is only 58 points behind Sheppard in the championship chase, was second and sixth in last year’s two Minnesota showings. Weiss is off to the hottest start of his career in the Drydene No. 7 this year, earning his first career World of Outlaws win at Vado and then finding five top five finishes in nine features.

Other Outlaws such as Dennis Erb Jr.Chase JunghansCade DillardBoom Briggs, and Brent Larson have all recorded top ten showings in the past in Minnesota. World of Outlaws Late Model Rookie of the Year contenders – Ashton WingerMatt Cosner and Kody Evans – will be making their Minnesota debut with the Outlaws.

Dial up your FAST PASS at home and don’t miss any of the action this weekend by watching it all live on DIRTVision.

Check Also

Follow All Star Sprints Watch Live! FloRacing All Star Newsletter SIGN-UP FOR EMAIL UPDATES Up Next 5/29/2020 Park Jefferson International Speedway 5/30/2020 Park Jefferson International Speedway 6/4/2020 Lawton Speedway 6/5/2020 Red Dirt Raceway 6/6/2020 Outlaw Motor Speedway Latest Results East Bay Raceway Park 2/11/2020 1. Kyle Larson #57 2. Ian Madsen #18 3. Cory Eliason #26 4. Aaron Reutzel #87 5. Tony Stewart #14 Full Results East Bay Raceway Park 2/10/2020 1. Aaron Reutzel #87 2. Ian Madsen #18 3. Cory Eliason #26 4. Tony Stewart #14 5. Chad Kemenah #15K Full Results Volusia Speedway Park 2/6/2020 1. Aaron Reutzel #87 2. Brad Sweet #49 3. Ian Madsen #18 4. Donny Schatz #15 5. James McFadden #9 Full Results Point Standings Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions as of 9/28/2019 1. Aaron Reutzel 5736pts 2. Dale Blaney 5578pts 3. Cory Eliason 5524pts 4. Brock Zearfoss 5388pts 5. Paul McMahan 5342pts 6. Greg Wilson 5104pts 7. Skylar Gee 4874pts 8. Gerard McIntyre Jr 4874pts 9. George Hobaugh Jr. 4190pts 10. Justin Peck 3852pts Full Points Featured Drivers Cory Eliason Cory Eliason Aaron Reutzel Aaron Reutzel Sam Hafertepe Jr Sam Hafertepe Jr Justin Peck Justin Peck Paul McMahan Paul McMahan Greg Wilson Greg Wilson Skylar Gee Skylar Gee Gerard McIntyre Jr Gerard McIntyre Jr Brock Zearfoss Brock Zearfoss Our Supporters Hoosier Racing Tire Ford Performance Lincoln Electric Rayce Rudeen Foundation Hercules Tire Cometic Gasket Sage Fruit Winn-Dixie Indy Metal JE Pistons Hunt Brothers Pizza Racing Bars C and R Racing Kistler Racing Products Classic Ink Elliotts Custom Trailers All Pro Cylinder Heads Kears Speed Shop Schoenfeld Jakes Carts Sharp Advantage Simpson Race Products Racing Electronics MyRacePass Donovan Engineering NEWS Devil’s Bowl added to Cometic Gasket Thunder Through The Plains presented by Hercules Tires on June 10; Tony Stewart to Join Entire TTTP

BROWNSBURG, IND – Bumping the overall tally from eight to nine, the 2020 edition of …

%d bloggers like this: