HOLLAND, NY – A picture perfect summer afternoon greeted fans and competitors as the Track @ Hillside presented the biggest event of the season for the SST Modifieds, the annual George Decker Memorial 75-lap event.

Neil Dietz Jr. snagged the lead as the 75-lap George Decker Memorial event got underway, with Scott Wylie moving into second a few laps in. After Steve Fuchs slowed to bring out a yellow on lap 14, Dietz and Wylie battled for the lead as Connor Sellars moved into third spot. Sellars faded back on a lap 19 restart as Wylie took the lead. Shawn Nye was on the move, following Sherri Hogan up into the fourth spot as they chased the leaders. Sellars spun in turn 3 on lap 27 and brought out the next yellow, heading to the pits.

Nye grabbed third on the restart and battled with Wylie and Dietz for the lead as Owen Bednaz entered the top five. Shawn Nye snagged the lead off a lap 39 restart, but the red flag flew when Wylie and Dietz tangled in turn one, with Dietz going upside down and Wylie smacking the wall, knocking both cars out of the race. On the restart, Bednaz battled Nye for the top spot as Jeremy Haudricourt passed Hogan for third. Tony Carbone spun off turn four on lap 60, and Nye was able to keep Bednaz at bay and looked to have the win in hand until Carbone smacked the turn two wall on lap 73, setting up a green-white-checker finish. The first attempt at the finish saw Sherri Hogan spin in turn two, resetting the field. Nye held on in the second attempt for the win, over Bednaz, Haudricourt, Jake Vernon, and Kevin Timmerman.

SST Modified heats were won by Scott Wylie and Sherri Hogan.

The NYPA TQ Midget feature again saw Kyle Hutchinson assert his dominance over the field, taking the lead on lap 2 of the 25-lap contest and pulling out to a straightaway lead, with Dave Wollaber breaking into 2nd on lap 5. Wollaber gave chase until the yellow flew for Tim Nye’s spin at the halfway point. In the second half of the feature, Wollaber and Hutchinson battled furiously side by side, with Hutchinson finally able to claim a solid lead off turn two of the final lap to take the win. Wollaber, Andy Nye, Erik Musto, and Vinnie Christiano rounded out the top five.

NYPA TQ Midgets were won by Dave Wollaber and Kyle Hutchinson.

Jim Loffredo and Ken Maltby battled hard for the lead in the 35-lap Street Stock 8 feature as Max Northem tried to close in from third. A spin by Steve Hill on lap 21 bunched the field for a restart, and Maltby got the lead away from Loffredo. While they battled for the lead, Tim and Nik Welshans ran three wide with Josh Hathaway for the fourth spot behind Northem. At the finish, Maltby notched another win over Loffredo and Northem, with Tim Welshans barely beating Hathaway to the line for fourth spot.

Street Stock 8 heats were won by Ken Maltby and Jim Loffredo.

Kenny Hejna took the lead on lap 4 of the Street Stock 4 feature and was unchallenged the rest of the way to record another win in the division. The battle for second spot raged through the second half of the event between Michelle Russo and Jason Anasiewicz, with the two running side by side over the final 10 laps. Russo held off Anasiewicz by a car length at the finish, with Jeff Szafraniec and Charles Palmer rounding out the top five.

Street Stock 4 heats were won by Kenny Hejna and Michelle Russo.

The Track @ Hillside returns to action Saturday, August 11th with the SST Modifieds, The Jerry Gradl 50 lap event for theNYPA TQ Midgets, Street Stock 8’s, Street Stock 4’s, and Crazy 8’s. Racing begins at 4:00 p.m. For more information, check the new web site at www.hillsidebuffalo.com.


SST MODIFIED GEORGE DECKER MEMORIAL-SHAWN NYE, Owen Bednasz, Jeremy Haudricourt, Jake Vernon, Kevin Timmerman, Wayne Baker, Don Pringle, Sherry Hogan, Bob Weber, Tony Carbone, Scott Wylie, Neil Dietz Jr, Joe Evans, Connor Sellars, Lee Sharpsteen, Steve Fuchs.

NYPA TQ MIDGET FEATURE-KYLE HUTCHINSON, Dave Wollaber, Andy Nye, Erik Musto, Vinnie Christiano, Vinnie Christiano III, Ted Jones Jr, AJ Hessler, Chad Haywood, Tim Niles, Tony Patrea, Jamie Pew, Chester Haywood Jr, Jimmy Smith, Kevin WIlson.

STREET STOCK 8 FEATURE-KEN MALTBY, Jim Loffredo, Max Northem, Tim Welshans, Josh Hathaway, Nik Welshans, Don Sitarski, Chris Handley, Bob Palmer, Jeff Szfraniec, Steve Hill, Glenn Absolom.

STREET STOCK 4 FEATURE-KENNY HEJNA, Michelle Russo, Jason Anasiewicz, Josh Schosek, Josh Hill, Briar Dils, Ryan Palmer, Adam Killingbeck, Scott Pastorious, Jeff Landwehr, John Byrd (DNS).

Check Also

Shullick Jr. Posts Top Time Following Four Straight Days of Testing at Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – During a private track rental on Monday evening, Ohioan Dave Shullick Jr. …

%d bloggers like this: