Home / Drag Racing News / Zmuda Tops Supercharged Bounty Hunters at Lancaster @ NYIRP

Zmuda Tops Supercharged Bounty Hunters at Lancaster @ NYIRP

LANCASTER, NY – Mike Zmuda of Lackawanna, N.Y. and Frank Malvaso of Rochester won the final matchups for the Supercharged Bounty Hunters on Friday night at Lancaster Dragway @ New York International Raceway Park.

The field of nine Supercharged Bounty Hunters was set through qualifying with Mike Zmuda and Chuck McMahon of Rochester taking top two spots. They then faced off head-to-head in the first final of the night. McMahon left the starting line first, but Zmuda was first to top end with a pass of 4.656 seconds at 149.55 mph.

The second final featured the #3 and #4 qualifiers, with Malvaso facing off against the Chevy Nova of Ron D’Alessandro. Malvaso picked up the win with an elapsed time of 4.619 seconds at 155.76 mph.

Dave Balser of Akron, N.Y. almost became the first driver of the season to score multiple class wins in the same night. Balser started out by winning Top 8 Eliminator by beating Chris Van Baalen in a close matchup. He was then inserted into the Mallare Trucking Top ET ladder, and made his way to the finals to face Chuck Mendola of Lancaster. Balser’s quest to do the double was derailed when he brokeout, which gave Mendola his first win of the season.

In Gianna Mazia’s Mod ET, “Fast Eddie” Semlitsch of West Seneca picked up the class win. Semlitsch defeated Keith Banas in the final round as Banas was a little too quick in trying to erase Semlitsch’s 2-second head start. Banas narrowly broke out while Semlitsch ran his dial-in to score the victory.

It was a matchup of veteran riders in the Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds final as four-time and defending track champion, Mike Peters of Akron, N.Y., beat Dick Nearhoof. Peters overcame a half-second disadvantage on the starting tree to pass Nearhoof at top end with both riders putting down around 6-second runs at over 110 mph.

Dan Knab of Elma, N.Y. picked up the win in Tread City Tire Street. Knab beat Deanna Winkowski in the final in a battle of Saturns.

Next Friday, June 21, the baddest street cars in Western New York return to Lancaster as the Buffalo Street Outlaws are in action plus the TNT Hot Rod Series and a full card of IHRA Drag Racing. Time trials start at 5 p.m.

About Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway: Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway, WNY’s Premier Motorsports and Event Facility, is a muti-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, N.Y. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag strip, a 1/2-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our website www.lancasternationalspeedway.com. Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/LancasterSpeedway) and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Supercharged Bounty Hunters

“A Final”

Winner: Mike Zmuda (Lackawanna, N.Y.) 1975 Dodge Dart .451 4.656 seconds, 149.55 mph

Runner-up: Chuck McMahon (Rochester, N.Y.) 1991 Pontiac .426 5.801 seconds, 84.44 mph

“B Final”

Winner: Frank Malvaso (Rochester, N.Y.) 1933 Willys .550 4.619 seconds, 155.76 mph

Runner-up: Ron D’Alessandro (W. Seneca, N.Y.) 1963 Chevrolet Nova 66.676 seconds

Mallare Trucking Top ET

Winner: Chuck Mendola (Lancaster, N.Y.) 1986 Chevrolet S-10 .503 5.98 6.002 seconds, 113.30 mph

Runner-up: Dave Balser (Akron, N.Y.) 1990 Dodge Daytona .541 5.63 5.623 seconds, 122.28 mph

Top 8 Eliminator

Winner: Dave Balser (Akron, N.Y.) 1990 Dodge Daytona .510 5.65 5.654 seconds, 119.61 mph

Runner-up: Chris Van Baalen Chevrolet Monte Carlo .524 5.84 5.854 seconds, 117.20 mph

Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET

Winner: Ed Semlitsch (W. Seneca, N.Y.) 1963 Chevrolet II .556 8.77 8.770 seconds, 75.89 mph

Runner-up: Keith Banas (Buffalo, N.Y.) 1972 Chevrolet Chevelle .532 6.76 6.753 seconds, 97.46 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds

Winner: Mike Peters (Angola, N.Y.) 1980 Kawsaki .560 5.52 5.553 seconds, 114.77

Runner-up: Dick Nearhoof (Wheatfield, N.Y.) 1990 Kawasaki ZX10 .615 5.98 6.003 seconds, 113.66 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET

Winner: Dan Knab (Elma, N.Y.) 2004 Saturn .642 10.35 10.413 seconds, 68.39 mph

Runner-up: Deanna Winkowski (Depew, N.Y.) 2001 Saturn .592 11.97 11.861 seconds, 58.31

Check Also


LANCASTER, NY – Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., earned his second straight victory in Race …

%d bloggers like this: